Bangladesh beats Scotland by 6 wickets in World Cup

CrecketBangladeh cricket team have created history by successfully chasing 318 runs in their world cup match against Scotland at Sexton Oval of Nelson in New Zealand on Thursday.
This is the higehst suceessful run chase of Bangladesh history and the second highest for any team in World cup.
Shakib Al Hasan and Sabbir Rahman added 75 runs off just 61 balls to reach home with 11 balls and 6 wickets to spare. Shakib reached his fifty with a boundary which was also the winnig shot of the match.
Tigers made the history with extreme finesse and temperament as they never looked hurried or drifted off the target at any stage of chasing the huge total of 319 and like an experienced test side they claimed the upper hand over the associate opponent.
Bangladeshi make shift opener Soumya Sarker is out for just 2 runs as he was caught behind in the second over in their chase of 318 runs scored by Scotland.
But 1 down Mahmudullah and opener Tamim Iqbal have been shwoing gritty performance. The duo has added 139 runs off just 130 runs, the highest ever partnership for Bangladesh in any world cup match.
Tamim was out for 95 which is the highest individual run for any Bangladeshi player in World cup previously it was 87 of Ashraful back in 2007 against South Africa.
Bangladesh have managed to score 309/4 after 47 overs till updating of the report .
Mushfiq and Tamim added  57 runs after Mahmudullah was out.
Mushfiq reached his 50 off just 38 balls and he got out for 60.
Mahmudullah was out in the most unfortunate way when a ball richochet of his toe to stump. He was out for 62 and limped out off the field.
Tamim was on 90 which is the highest individual run for any Bangladeshi player in World cup previously it was 87 of Ashraful back in 2007 against South Africa.
Kyle Coetzer has become the first Scotland player to score a century in a world cup match as he scored one against Bangladesh in their Group-A encounter at Saxton oval of Nelson in New Zealand.
He reached his ton with just 103 balls and eventually was out as the fifth batsman for a brilliant 156 off 134 balls, he and Preston Momsen added 141 off just 113 balls in the fourth wicket stand to help  Scotland reach 318 runs after theiur stipulated 50 overs.
Koetzer was out in the bowling of Nasir Hussain .
Nasir also picked up Momsen for 39 in the 43rd over. Soumya Sarker was the catcher on both occassions.
Soumya held on another spectacular catch in the final over to dismiss Majid Huq in the bowling of Shakib.
Taskin picked up a couple of wickets in the penaltimate over of the innigs to reduce the run flow a littlebit.
However, it will be a tough chase for the tigers and they have to do it without their opening batsman Anamul Haque who injured himself while fielding and shall be unable to bat.
Earlier, Bangladesh skipper Mashrfe Mortaza justified his decision of fieldding first by picking up a wicket in his second over by picking up Scotland opener MacLeod for 11. Mahmudullah held the straight forward catch at cover as the batsman tried to play the ball through leg side and it popped up in the air to cover.
Young fast bowler Taskin Ahmed picked up Gardiner for 19 when the batsman slashed one staright to cover and Soumya Sarker held the catch on second attempt.
But Scottish opener Kyle Coetzer and skipper Matt Machen made a formidable partnership and they took the score past 100 at the 22nd over without any more hiccup.
Sabbir Rahman caught at his own bowling to dismiss Scotland skipper Mat Machan for 35 after he made a decent partnership of 78 runs with Kyle Coetzer.
Bangladesh is facing Scotland in their crucial Group-A encounter in the ICC world cup cricket 2015 at Saxton Oval of Nelson in New Zealand on Thursday.
A win for Tigers will help their chances to reach semifinal.
Bangladesh has never lost an ODI against Scotland, one of the associate members taking part in this world cup.
Bangladesh has included Nasir Hossain in place of Mominul Haque in the final 11 in this match.
Bangladesh Team : Anamul Haque, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim†, Nasir Hossain,Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza*, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed

Related Articles

Back to top button