Bangladesh out of DV 2016 lottery

A total of 18 countries including Bangladesh have been declared ineligible for the Diversity Visa 2016. The US State Department said these countries are not eligible to apply, because more than 50,000 natives of these countries immigrated to the United States in the past five years.
The countries are: Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam.
However, persons born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, and Taiwan are eligible for the upcoming DV lottery.
There are no changes in eligibility this year, the announcement said.
Diversity visas are distributed among six geographic regions and no single country may receive more than 7% of the available DVs in any one year.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button