Muslim player nominated for FIFA award

Best FIFA Men's Player award announced

Egyptian Mohamed Salah, Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo and Croatian Luka Modric were shortlisted for the 2018 Best FIFA Men’s Player award.

According to a FIFA statement on Monday, Argentinean Lionel Messi missed out on the shortlist for the 2018 Best FIFA Men’s Player award.

Mohamed Salah had scored 32 Premier League goals last season while Ronaldo scored 26 goals in La Liga last season and Modric was named UEFA’s Men’s player of the season.

The nominees of Best FIFA Men’s Coach are Zlatko Dalic (Croatia/Croatia national team), Didier Deschamps (France/France national team), Zinedine Zidane (France/formerly Real Madrid CF).

The shortlisted Best FIFA Women’s Player are Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais), Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany/Olympique Lyonnais), Marta (Brazil/Orlando Pride) and the nominees of Best FIFA Women’s Coach are Reynald Pedros (France/Olympique Lyonnais), Asako Takakura (Japan/Japan national team), Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Netherlands national team).

The nominees of Best FIFA Goalkeeper are Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Real Madrid CF, formerly Chelsea FC), Hugo Lloris (France/Tottenham Hotspur FC), Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark/Leicester City FC).

The nominees of FIFA Puskas Award — given for the best goal of the year — are as follows:

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid CF) – v. Liverpool FC

Denis Cheryshev (Russia) – v. Croatia

Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK FC) – v. Olympiacos FC

Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Cruzeiro) – v. América MG

Riley McGree (Newcastle Jets FC) – v. Melbourne City FC

Lionel Messi (Argentina) – v. Nigeria

Benjamin Pavard (France) – v. Argentina

Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal) – v. IR Iran

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF) – v. Juventus FC

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool FC) – v. Everton FC

The winners will be crowned on September 24.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button